Book Review: The Demon of Devil’s Cavern

  • Publisher: DarkLit Press
  • Publication Date: April 20, 2024
  • Author: Brennan LaFaro
  • Genre: Horror
  • Page Count: 200

Rating: 2 out of 5.

Blurb

Six months after the death of “Noose” Holcomb, Buzzard’s Edge rests in an uneasy quiet, but can a town that resonates with such hatred remain peaceful for long?

Dark forces conspire to chase Rory Daggett and his mute adopted daughter, Alice, into exile, framed for a crime they didn’t commit.

With a new sheriff and a notorious killer for hire tracking their every move, the two must choose between starting a new life and saving the soul of the town that betrayed them.

Strap yourselves in tight, folks, ’cause the blood-curdling saga of Rory Daggett and Buzzard’s Edge is fixin’ to unleash a harrowing storm. Get ready to face a nightmarish landscape where gunpowder and the macabre collide in a haunting dance of terror.


My Thoughts & Opinions

The stellar reviews captured my attention. However, I didn’t get the same vibe as the other readers. I probably would have enjoyed it more if I read the previous novel as I was pretty clueless as to the backstory of Buzzard’s Edge and it’s people.

The Demon of Devil’s Cavern is not anything like what I’m used to reading in the horror genre. I expected a horror story similar in the adrenaline rush like novels written by Duncan Ralston (Ghostland) and Daniel Kraus/George Romero (The Living Dead.) The Demon doesn’t even come close to the graphic and horrific depictions of zombies, ghosts and other demons that I’ve come to expect from a good horror novel. That being said, I found The Demon of Devil’s Cavern to be a little boring. Two okay stars.

I received a DRC from DarkLit Press through NetGalley. This review is completely my own reflect my honest thoughts and opinions.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.