Book Review: Goth Moth

  • Publisher: NorthSouth Books
  • Publication Date: September 3, 2024
  • Author: Kai Lüftner
  • Genre: Children’s Fiction
  • Page Count: 32

Rating: 2 out of 5.

Blurb

Walter is a shy moth. He prefers to hide out in his quiet attic. But a fiery passion slumbers in him . . . In his heart he is a drummer, a true “Goth Moth.” There’s just one problem: Walter has no drums, let alone a band. The moth adores the music by Jitterbug (also known as Lady B. Marie)—his idol. At one of her concerts, the unimaginable happens: the Goth Moth now finds himself on stage, in the limelight.

Kai Lüftner’s rollicking rhymes tell the story of someone who flies under the radar with daring rhythm. Wiebke Rauers prepares the stage for our shy hero in such a thrilling way that you too will become a Goth Moth fan.

Rock on with Walter the Goth Moth and Lady B. Marie the Jitterbug in these musical refrains about being yourself!


My Thoughts & Opinions

Having enjoyed the first book, Jitterbug, I was excited at the opportunity to read the Goth Moth. However, I didn’t find Goth Moth to have the same dynamics. The rhyming isn’t as fun and I think that the character illustration is a bit creepy.

Not a bad picture book, but I think that some children may get a little scared by the main character. Two stars.

I was invited to read a DRC from NorthSouth Books through NetGalley. The review herein is completely my own and contains my honest thoughts and opinions.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.