Book Review: A Haunting in the Arctic

  • Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group
  • Publication Date: February 27, 2024
  • Author: C. J. Cooke
  • Genre: General Fiction (Adult) | Horror | Mystery & Thrillers
  • Page Count: 352

Rating: 2 out of 5.

Blurb:

The year is 1901, and Nicky is attacked, then wakes on board the Ormen, a whaling ship embarked on what could be its last voyage. With land still weeks away, it’s just her, the freezing ocean, and the crew – and they’re all owed something only she can give them…

Now, over one hundred years later, the wreck of the Ormen has washed up on the forbidding, remote coast of Iceland. It’s scheduled to be destroyed, but explorer Dominique feels an inexplicable pull to document its last days, even though those who have ventured onto the wreck before her have met uncanny ends.

Onboard the boat, Dominique will uncover a dark past riddled with lies, cruelty, and murder—and her discovery will change everything. Because she’ll soon realize she’s not alone. Something has walked the floors of the Ormen for almost a century. Something that craves revenge.


My Thoughts & Opinions

Having read The Lighthouse Witches and loving it, I was excited to read A Haunting in the Arctic. Sadly, A Haunting didn’t meet my expectations. I did expect a slow paced novel. But A Haunting didn’t have the same impact as Lighthouse. A Haunting just wasn’t creepy enough. And the plot didn’t make much sense — was there possession involved?

The story unfolds through multiple points of view over multiple timelines. It got to be confusing at times as I kept wondering how the two different timelines and characters would connect. And in the end, I didn’t get how some of the characters were even included in the narrative. I’m still pondering the novel as there were so many unanswered questions.

There were quite a number of characters. And with so many characters, only a handful were fully developed. For the most part, all of the characters were so unlikeable. They were dark and somewhat sinister. It was fairly depressing to read about them.

With such a confusing story and a convoluted conclusion, I’m surprised that I managed to finish the novel. But that won’t stop me from attempting another go at Cooke’s other endeavors. Two stars.

I received a DRC from Berkley Publishing Group through NetGalley. The review herein is completely my own and contains my honest thoughts and opinions.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.