Book Review: The Truth About the Accident

  • Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
  • Publication Date: January 2, 2024
  • Author: Nicole Trope
  • Genre: Mystery & Thrillers
  • Page Count: 256

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Blurb

From the author of The Family Across the Street comes another gripping psychological thriller about a family in crisis, a marriage at breaking point, and how secrets can be deadly. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and The Housemaid .

I gaze at my husband’s once handsome face, so still and pale in the hospital bed. The doctors say I should keep talking. He might be able to hear me even after the terrible accident that left him fighting for his life. But all I have to whisper to my husband is  I know what you did.

Every day I wave my husband Damon off with a kiss and a smile, drive our precious children to school, and make sure our house is pristine before preparing a delicious meal. I pretend I’m not filled with fury that he once nearly destroyed our perfect life. It’s important to carry on as normal.

That is, until the accident.

My husband was hit by a car. It was pouring with rain. Nobody saw what happened. But the police are asking questions…

Do they know about the terrible argument we had that day?

Do they know about the text message I sent, telling someone to Delete everything?


My Thoughts & Opinions

After reading a glowing review of The Truth About the Accident, I jumped at the chance to read and review the novel. The old saying, “different strokes for different folks” rang true for me with this book. While I did enjoy the first few chapters, the novel slowly devolved into something that I couldn’t wait to be over. Still, I managed to persevere and finish the book. After all, the narrative did have some interesting plot twists.

The story unfolds through the three main characters’ points of view. Each view dovetailing each other. It did get a little confusing and tedious at times, especially when the timelines changed. Perhaps if the characters were more refined, I wouldn’t have had that problem of identifying who’s who in the novel.

The narrative follows a whodunit theme laced with family drama. I suspect that the family drama was supposed to add an air of suspense. It did, to a point. But after a while it got frustrating, especially when those women, who are supposed to know better, kept repeating the same mistakes. And with a lukewarm finale, I was left feeling like there was something missing in the whole scheme of things. Three stars.

I received a physical copy of the novel from Grand Central Publishing. The review herein is completely my own and contains my honest thoughts and opinions.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.