Book Review: If Love Could Kill

  • Publisher: Knopf, Pantheon, Vintage and Anchor
  • Publication Date: February 6, 2024
  • Author: Anna Motz
  • Genre: Health, Mind & Body | Nonfiction | Parenting & Families
  • Page Count: 272

Rating: 2 out of 5.

Review

If Love Could Kill is a collection of 10 case files of women involved in violent acts that the author was involved in. The book provides a psychoanalysis of each of the 10 women and the why’s for their propensity toward violence.

Cases were varied and included psychological disorders such as Munchausen’s Syndrome, Self Mutilation, and Erotomania, among others. But in the end it all comes down to the vicious cycle of the abused becoming the abuser after an endless cycle of violence.

I didn’t particularly care for the book inasmuch as I was probably expecting more of a true crime type narrative. Instead, I felt like a student in a case studies class analyzing symptoms, dysfuctions, and therapies.

The book eventually becomes a platform for the author promoting her political beliefs and reforms. Something that I didn’t need to read about. Two okay stars.

I received a DRC from Knopf, Pantheon through NetGalley. The review herein is completely my own and contains my honest thoughts and opinions.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.