DRC Review: The Block Party

  • Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
  • Publication Date: July 18, 2023
  • Author: Jamie Day
  • Genre: Mystery & Thrillers
  • Page Count: 384

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Review

The Block Party is such a complex story. I can’t even begin to describe it. And the blurb doesn’t divulge much either.

There are numerous characters and families. So many that I had to take notes on who’s who. But they were developed enough to distinguish one from another. But it took a while.

The story unfolds through dual timelines and dual points of view. It got a little confusing at times. Especially if I wasn’t paying attention. The pacing was a little slow. And it wasn’t until past the 60% point that the story took off. With numerous twists and turns, patience paid off with a rewarding finale. Four stars.

I received a DRC from St. Martin’s Press through NetGalley. The review herein is completely my own and contains my honest thoughts and opinions.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.