ARC Review: Goodbye Earl

  • Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
  • Publication Date: July 3, 2023
  • Author: Leesa Cross-Smith
  • Genre: General Fiction (Adult)
  • Page Count: 400

Rating: 2 out of 5.

Review

Goodbye Earl is a story about four besties whose friendship withstood the tests of time. Rosemarie, Ada, Caroline, and Kasey aka the RACK were best friends since forever. They each had each other’s back through good times and bad times. Even fifteen years later, their friendship was just as strong as though nothing changed. But something did change. Caroline married a monster… Which brought back painful childhood memories for Kasey. And Kasey vowed to make things right for everyone.

I struggled with Goodbye Earl. My struggles had nothing to do with the characters or the plot. It was the pacing. The narrative chugged along and nothing exciting occurred until past the 43% point. By that time, I just about lost interest in the story. It didn’t help that the multiple timelines jumped forward, backward and in-between. Toss multiple points of view into the mix and you have a hot mess. I was constantly referring to the table of contents to determine the point in time for the characters.

In the end, I was just grateful it was over and done with. Two okay stars.

I received a digital ARC from Grand Central Publishing through NetGalley. The review herein is completely my own and contains my honest thoughts and opinions.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.