Book Review: The One That Got Away with Murder

  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
  • Publication Date: April 16, 2024
  • Author: Trish Lundy
  • Genre: Mystery & Thriller
  • Page Count: 384

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Blurb

Robbie and Trevor Cresmont have a body count—the killer kind. Handsome and popular, the Crestmont brothers’ have enough wealth and privilege to ensure they’ll never be found guilty of any wrongdoing, even if all of Happy Valley believes they’re behind the deaths of their ex-girlfriends. First there was soccer star Victoria Moreno, Robbie’s ex, who mysteriously drowned at the family lake house. Then, a year later, Trevor’s girlfriend died of a suspicious overdose. 

But the Crestmonts aren’t the only ones with secrets. Lauren O’Brian might be the new girl at school, but she’s never been a good girl. With a dark past of her own, she’s desperate for a fresh start. Except when she starts a no-strings-attached relationship with Robbie, her chance is put in jeopardy. During what’s meant to be their last weekend together, Lauren stumbles across shocking evidence that just might implicate Robbie.

With danger closing in, Lauren doesn’t know who to trust. And after a third death rocks the town, she must decide whether to end things with Robbie or risk becoming another cautionary tale. 


My Thoughts & Opinions

Well not much to say about The One That Got Away with Murder except that I wasn’t swept away like some of the other readers.

I expected a more suspenseful, nail-biting read, and instead I got a lukewarm mystery that could have used a lot more plot twists. I didn’t even understand the motive behind the murders. The motive just seemed too shallow in my opinion.

I like that the story unfolded through a first person’s point of view. It made it easier to keep track of all the characters. However, one drawback that I noticed was that the different characters were not fleshed out as well as they should have been.

Needless to say, I didn’t find The One That Got Away with Murder to be breathtaking, nor surprising. But considering that the novel is the author’s debut, I must say that it’s a good start. Three stars.

I claimed the book from Henry Holt and Co., through the Bookish First Raffle. This review is completely my own and reflects my honest thoughts and opinions.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.