ARC Review: The Younger Wife

  • Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
  • Publication Date: April 5, 2022
  • Author: Sally Hepworth
  • Genre: Mystery & Thrillers | Women’s Fiction
  • Page Count: 352

Blurb

THE HUSBAND
A heart surgeon at the top of his field, Stephen Aston is getting married again. But first he must divorce his current wife, even though she can no longer speak for herself.

THE DAUGHTERS
Tully and Rachel Aston look upon their father’s fiancée, Heather, as nothing but an interloper. Heather is younger than both of them. Clearly, she’s after their father’s money.

THE FORMER WIFE
With their mother in a precarious position, Tully and Rachel are determined to get to the
truth about their family’s secrets, the new wife closing in, and who their father really is.

THE YOUNGER WIFE
Heather has secrets of her own. Will getting to the truth unleash the most dangerous impulses
in all of them?


My Thoughts and Opinions

The Younger Wife is the second book that I’ve read from Sally Hepworth. It certainly won’t be the last as Hepworth has the remarkable ability to craft suspenseful stories that hooks you at the beginning and reels you in for the landing.

I can’t say much about the story without giving away the whole kit and caboodle. But the blurb does provide enough mysteriousness to get your attention.

The story unfolds from multiple points of view — from Tully, Rachel and Heather. I loved that it was written this way. Especially since I got to learn the background of each character. There is an unknown third party observer in the narrative who isn’t revealed. But with the powers of deduction, one will be able to determine who that mysterious observer is. A very nice touch to an already engaging story.

The plot is absorbing from the prologue to the epilogue. And everything in between is sprinkled with twists that will keep you wanting to read the next chapter and the next.

As much as I thoroughly enjoyed The Younger Wife, I didn’t care too much for the ending. Not sure if was purposely written this way or not. And I’m still questioning whether I missed something. Maybe that “aha” moment will come sometime later. Until that time, The Younger Wife is a superb four star read for me.

I received a digital ARC from St. Martin’s Press through NetGalley. The review hereis is completely my own and contains my honest thoughts and opinions.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.